Rental forms and resources for Alaska##
Fillable, HomeKasa SmartForms##
For property owners, property managers, tenants and real estate agents##
Tenant Rights in the state of Alaska##
Tenant and landlord relationship in the State of Alaska is governed by The Alaska Landlord & Tenant Act. Some key things to keep in mind
- Landlords in Alaska can not charge for more than two months' rent for security deposit expect if the rent is more than $2000 per month.
do nothave to pay interest on the security deposits held by them.
- Landlords can charge extra for a
Pet Depositbased on their decretion. This does not apply if you can provde that your pet is a service animal. The
Pet Depositcan not be more than 1 month's rent.
Some definitions, as laid out in this act.
- Dwelling unit, property or premises: the place that is rented out. It includes a house, appartment, condo, mobile home, or mobile home park space.
Landlord: the person who rents out the property, or their agent.
Tenant: One or more people who lives in the property, or their agent.
Security Deposit: A deposit that the landlord holds in order to secure the tenancy.
Some tips that are outlined in this document are
- get a written agreement
- The agreement should include
- Names and addresses of people authorized to manage the premises
- the name and address of the tenant(s)
- how many tenants and pets are to occupy the unit
- who holds the deposit
- reasons the deposit or a portion of it may be retained by the landlord
- the amount to be paid for rent and deposits
- when, where, and how the rent is to be paid
- when the rent is considered delinquent, and what the penalty will be for late payment
What is illegal##
Illegal provisions in an agreement can not be enforced. It does not matter that both the parties have signed the agreement or not.
Read about Alaska's eviction ban for the COVID-19 pandemic.